Skip to content

PlayStation All-Stars Battle Royale: Tips ‘n’ Tricks – Jak and Daxter

January 8, 2013
Yeeeah... he's ready to see you.

Yeeeah … he’s ready to see you.

Jak and Daxter are one of my favourite duos in all of PlayStation’s history, it would be hard for a dedicated WH9M fan to miss that fact, so you can understand quite easily how quickly I adopted Jak and Daxter as my main fighter of choice in All-Stars. So here I am sharing a few tips and tricks I picked up on the way to build that All-Star Power (AP), fill that little blue Super Meter and bring the pain to the party.

Play-style and general tips

Jak and his trusty wise-mouth Ottsel friend Daxter are best played as a mid-range fighter, using his Morph-Gun to build AP and then using his physical attacks to combo with devastating results.

Jak’s forward punch (SIDE and SQUARE) followed up his uppercut (UP and SQUARE) will strike and launch opponents into the air. From there, a neutral SQUARE attack or the hoverboard swipe (Air SIDE and SQUARE) can build your meter or move you past your enemies as you hit them. The hoverboard swipe has to be timed carefully to strike a launched opponent, but it can also be useful to move yourself further away from your enemy, setting you up to build AP with Jak’s Morph-Gun from range.

Moving on to Jak’s Morph-Gun. By mashing SIDE and TRIANGLE you can fire three bursts from Jak’s Blaster. This is extremely effective at building AP, and quite hard for enemies to roll through. You can also surprise enemies getting too close with DOWN and TRIANGLE which will cause Jak to fire a Reflector shot at the floor which will ricochet up and hit both enemies coming from the ground and the air. These moves are also very useful in the air.

Using UP and TRIANGLE will fire Jak’s Peacemaker which is very good anti-air, leaving enemies stunned mid-air so you can follow with an UP and SQUARE uppercut. It can also catch enemies just above you on platforms. It can link with the UP and CIRCLE Mass Converter blast but the timing is rather tricky and the Mass Converter takes a while to fire, making you vulnerable.

Now for one of my favourite moves. By pressing DOWN and CIRCLE in the air or on the ground, Jak fires the Concussor. You can charge this attack: releasing the button will cause a fairly sizeable area of effect blast, depending on how long the Concussor was charged. It is very useful at hitting people both coming from the front and behind, and helps with attacking any enemies who are going to try juggling you in the air.

I suggest staying away from Jak’s neutral CIRCLE and SIDE and CIRCLE attack as they are very slow to execute and possess no stopping power, which is useful when enemies are closing in on you. You don’t need to rely on them at all.

That’s one mean stare he’s got going on.

Supers

Level 1 – Precursor Pad

You have to be careful with this Super. It is quite easy to miss at first. Enemies have to be right next to Jak so when the Pad appears they are standing on top of it, but it also has a good range above it so you can catch enemies just above you. It can hit enemies standing on low platforms above you such as in the level ‘Time Station’ or just as enemies are coming down to hit you from above.

Level 2 – Dark Jak Bomb

This Super is very powerful, much like Dark Jak himself. It has a devastatingly large hit box, although enemies can move away to avoid it. You can catch enemies by surprise or just recovering from the floor.  There are few downsides to this Super. If used at the right time it can easily get 2 to 3 kills consistently.

Level 3 – Light Jak

Although this Level 3 Super looks stunning and made my brain go into meltdown, it is rather underwhelming. You can fly Light Jak up and down and around the stage. You can use TRIANGLE and CIRCLE as attacks, but I have found the SQUARE light blast attack is perhaps the most effective. You will need to practice moving around and subtly aiming the blasts. One blast can catch up to multiple enemies if they are in a tight-knit group. You can rack up between 3 to 5 kills with some luck and practice. However, flying around is not without its hazards. You can get caught on scenery, and on stages such as ‘Invasion’ it is difficult to close in on your enemies. You could end up playing a game of cat and mouse instead.  I don’t advise using Light Jak as your go to Super.

Image Link: fanpop.comwiki.shoryuken.com

10 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2013 6:52 am

    With havin so much content and articles do you ever run into any problems of plagorism or copyright infringement?
    My website has a lot of unique content I’ve either authored myself or outsourced but it looks like a lot of it is popping it up all over the web without my agreement. Do you know any ways to help protect against content from being stolen? I’d really appreciate it.

  2. April 20, 2013 6:09 am

    Hi there! This post could not be written any better! Going through
    this article reminds me of my previous roommate!
    He continually kept preaching about this. I am going to send this post to
    him. Fairly certain he’ll have a great read. I appreciate you for sharing!

  3. April 26, 2013 3:53 am

    Excellent post, properly believed out! I packed my baggage and I am
    moving to Boston!

  4. May 7, 2013 9:16 am

    Thanks for ones marvelous posting! I actually enjoyed reading it, you can be a great author.
    I will always bookmark your blog and definitely will
    come back later on. I want to encourage that you
    continue your great work, have a nice day!

  5. May 15, 2013 9:01 pm

    I love what you guys are up too. This sort of clever work and
    exposure! Keep up the great works guys I’ve added you guys to my blogroll.

  6. May 22, 2013 11:43 am

    I’m not sure exactly why but this web site is loading very slow for me. Is anyone else having this issue or is it a issue on my end? I’ll check back later and see if the
    problem still exists.

  7. May 27, 2013 1:19 pm

    Please let me know if you’re looking for a article writer for your weblog. You have some really great articles and I feel I would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d
    really like to write some articles for your blog in exchange for a link back to mine.
    Please send me an e-mail if interested. Thank you!

  8. June 1, 2013 5:02 am

    I loved as much as you will receive carried out right here.
    The sketch is attractive, your authored subject matter stylish.
    nonetheless, you command get bought an nervousness over
    that you wish be delivering the following. unwell unquestionably come further formerly
    again since exactly the same nearly very often inside case you shield this hike.

  9. June 2, 2013 9:39 pm

    Aww, here I had been retaining a glimmer of hope that
    she was a Sophos employee of some description! Clearly she’d need to host the next Companion Conference. Cheers for that info even though! ;-)

  10. June 11, 2013 6:13 pm

    It’s difficult to find knowledgeable people in this particular topic, however, you sound like you know what you’re talking about!
    Thanks

Comment Or Die

