Skip to content

Assassin’s Creed III PS3

December 17, 2012

Assassin’s Creed III is the fifth installment of the Assassin’s Creed franchise, unless you count the many comics and side games. It is also the most ambitious. During the game you control three characters: Desmond, the main character, still voiced by Nolan North, Haytham Kenway, voiced by Adrian Hough, and last but not least, Ratonhnhaké:ton, or Connor as he will be called later in the game, voiced by Noah Watts.

I had been looking forward to Assassin’s Creed III ever since I finished Assassin’s Creed: Revelations. When I got my game I quickly inserted it into my PS3 and started playing. Little did I know that my internet had decided to die on me so I could not play the multiplayer or the “extra” feature. But luckily I had bought the game for the single player and quickly found it annoying that I could not play a part of it due to lack of internet – DRM is just plain silly and lack of internet even caused my inventory to bug out on one occasion.

Like the older games, you start out with a very minimal equipment selection and it is up to you to buy weapons and get upgrades. One of the other aspects that I feel works very well is the homestead, where all of your crafting will be done. To craft things, you first have to convince people to live on your homestead, which is done by a mission. You then have to upgrade their house – also done by a mission. When all that is done, crafting requires materials. A cannon, for example, requires iron ore, gunpowder, a wooden stock plus a few other materials. All those items have to be crafted, and each of them requires materials to make, so first you have to gather them. This means you either have to go out and hunt animals to get the skin they offer, or go to town and steal the items. This is unless the homestead is upgraded enough to allow you to buy most of what you need there for a lower price. After you’ve crafted your Cannon, what can you do with it? Easy. You sell it to a trader in the cities, but not by going there yourself with a cannon tucked away in your inventory. Oh no. You have to send a trade convoy, either by land or by sea, which takes time but, in return, nets you a hefty profit. But watch out! It is not safe sending your caravans out as they might get attacked by bandits and pirates. Taking over forts or doing naval missions lowers the risk to your precious caravans.

Now, the crafting and homestead are not the only things that are very well done in the game. Ubisoft took a gamble, adding ship combat to the already multi-faceted game, and I must admit I was skeptical at first, having tried many other games with lousy or bad ship combat. But boy was I wrong when it came to the ship combat in Assassin’s Creed III. The controls feel very smooth, the ship responds to your commands, and going into combat was the most fun I’ve had in a long time. If Ubisoft would make a franchise just out of the ship combat, I would be a very happy man. The only thing I wish they had included more of, is climbing around on the ships masts and the ship during combat, or even multiplayer ship combat.

Running around with Haytham/Connor feels much more like parkour than the previous games, a move I quite enjoy. The climbing or jumping over fences and obstacles feels much more natural and fluent compared to the older games. The fighting is also much smoother and you can easily dispatch ten enemies in a fluid manner. Well, unless you are up against nine small men and a brute, in which case you may have a bit more of a problem taking him down. I found the pistol(s) Connor carries around to be very helpful, although it felt like cheating, just shooting a man down instead of stabbing the cold blade of your saber or hidden blade through his gut. Most enemies you encounter will carry rifles, which makes them both more dangerous but much easier to take down. At close range, four men with rifles are far easier to dispatch than four men with swords, daggers or hammers. You will at times, however, encounter enemies forming into a firing line to shoot at you, easily avoidable by using an innocent bystander as a shield.

Grab a gun on the run

Assassin’s Creed III is a good game, with incredibly solid gameplay. It felt like an overall improvement from the previous games, the side missions, especially the naval missions, were the most fun I’ve had in a long time and the homestead missions were well put together. What dissapointed me was how the story unfolded itself. The ending, even moreso made me very dissapointed and after I finished with the game I was left with a bad taste in my mouth. Now it is a fun game, with solid gameplay, the story just did not do it for me.

Image Links: Assassin’s Creed III Official Site, Assassin’s Creed Wikia, Fanpop

Comment Or Die

