Skip to content

Why Uncharted 3 Fell Flat

December 5, 2012

Uncharted 2: Among Thieves is one of my favourite games for this generation of gaming. It’s one of the best third person shooters in the Playstation 3 library. In fact it’s one of the best third person shooters developed. It had a brilliantly paced story, fast hyper-active run and gun shooting action, death-defying platforming, visually arresting graphics and cut scenes and it improved on the outstanding Uncharted: Drake’s Fortune to such an extent that it was hard to conceive how Naughty Dog managed to reach the bar and kick it further out into orbit.

https://i1.wp.com/www.veliremus.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/11/uncharted3_02.jpg

So you can imagine my delight that the sequel was announced. Uncharted 3: Drake’s Deception. I was incredibly excited. My mind was boggled after seeing the first teaser; so excited was I that I actually went to my local game store to pre-order the limited edition.

Let’s get this straight I love Uncharted 3: Among Thieves but, like its predecessor I quickly tired of it – or rather I lost my interest faster. I have spent 100 hours playing the campaign in Uncharted 2, for a campaign that only lasts up to 8 (but one I could now finish in 4-5 hours) and that is particularly odd.

Uncharted 2 was tighter, the story was darker and it was a real strike of gaming genius. Uncharted 3 did everything the same, apart from a new aiming system and new A.I which I have to admit were slightly flawed. I was being stubborn, ignoring those points. Yes, the aiming was heavier and slower and less precise: a trade-off Naughty Dog made to enhance the realism of combat. It was a problem enough that they patched it, and I have to admit, setting the aiming back to the old style made the game feel a little bit smoother. Apart from that though, Uncharted 3 ticked all the same boxes the previous installment had, so why do I feel Uncharted 3 fell flat quickly?

Uncharted 2 is a game I always enjoy, even if I’m on the hardest setting and getting blasted to bits. It’s always great fun to re-visit. Why does Uncharted 3 seem to suffer from a lack of re-playability?

I got all the platinum trophies for Uncharted 2 (and Uncharted) and took a great deal of pride in my love and enthusiasm for the games themselves, any of my friends would clearly label me obsessed by Uncharted, so why can’t I even get around to finishing Uncharted 3 on crushing?

Did Drake stumble and fall?

Did Drake stumble and fall?

Maybe because the formula didn’t change. I was in awe of the story and the visuals, and the dynamic gameplay, the fun characters and the drama and everything. Is it because it came second? Following a masterpiece is hard. How can you stand out when you have reached the pinnacle?

Uncharted 3 deserves to be put side by side to Uncharted 2 and in many ways it was bigger and more ambitious and built on its younger brother. I enjoyed it almost as much, but Uncharted 2 was the first in the formula and therefore instantly slams into your brain at the point where things changed. You always look back on it with a feeling of awe and ‘Wow that was amazing’. I wont look back on Uncharted 3 in the same way I look back on Uncharted 2 and that’s a sad thought.

Image Links : veliremus.com,  fronttowardsgamer.com

No comments yet

Comment Or Die

