Skip to content

Introduction to: The Guild by Felicia Day

November 3, 2012

If you have ever tried multiplaying a game, you will now how fun it can be to play with friends. And if you have ever played an MMORPG, you might have tried being in a guild. Or a fellowship. Or a coalition. Or a brotherhood. In the end it’s the same. A group of people banding together, most of the times forming great friendships and a feeling of team spirit as they help each other out in the game.

Some of you probably already know Felicia Day. She’s an American actress who is probably most well known for her work on web series, i.e., shows that have launched on YouTube and that are usually created by non-funded amateurs. Felicia used to play a lot of World of Warcraft, but decided to stop for some time. Out of this time came a script for The Guild, a web series about a bunch of people playing a video game with herself in the leading role (no, Felicia Day, you are not self-centered – I would totally have done the same in a series about games. Or if I had beautiful red, naturally wavy hair …).

The Guild eventually achieved a lot of success on YouTube, and Felicia Day has later expanded to the channel Geek & Sundry, which I may write more about in the future. It’s an excellent channel hosting both The Guild and many other geeky shows like the sci-fi/fantasy book show Sword & Laser with Veronica Belmont and Tom Merrit and the board game show Tabletop with Wil Wheaton.

The Guild is currently going strong on Season 6. Each episode is somewhere between 4 and 8 minutes, and it works! It has attracted geeky, internet people like me with the attention span of a goldfish to the show, and also because Felicia Day & Co. really hits the nail on the head.

The show’s protagonist, Syd Sherman alias Codex the elf priestess, is fun and likeable and reminds me of myself that time where I forgot to eat and almost failed my university course because I was playing World of Warcraft (I’m not proud that this happened, but I’m glad that I can identify myself with someone, it makes me feel less like a nerdy freak. I embrace my nerdy side. Not my freaky one.).

Along with Codex, we meet Vork, Zaboo, Clara, Bladezz and Tink, all having roles fitting an MMORPG, and we follow both their ingame and outofgame life. And it is so funny and so relatable for anyone who’s ever been in a guild. Felicia Day has lived it, and she knows what it’s like if someone in the group suddenly isn’t there to help down that boss, or if real life issues begin to overshadow the dynamics in the group. But she also portrays how a bunch of grown-ups can actually find each other and form friendship over a game.

All guilds, and all groups of friends have ups and downs. And meeting people and forming friendships within a game isn’t something that should be dismissed as weird or less worth, as many people seem to do. I’ve tried it, and I’ve been told more than a few times: “But those friends aren’t real friends.” Even if I have actually met them outside of the game in a real life environment and still do whenever I get the chance. Other people just don’t seem to understand the bond we’ve created, fighting those bosses, standing around for hours in a fantasy city talking more closely than I would, if I had seen my “normal” friends face to face. Sometimes things are easier when you type them.

When I found The Guild I was happy. I felt like “Yes, this is exactly how it is!”. Felicia Day has given a whole generation of gamers a voice with her show, and I’ll always be grateful to her for doing so. She shows the downsides, but also the humour, the wits, the geekiness, the creativity, the fantasy AND the great social aspect that being in a guild or just playing a game with your friends can create.

I’ve watched The Guild many times, and I’d recommend it to anyone who likes games, even if you don’t play MMORPG. There’s many little things in the series that any gamer can relate to and maybe even laugh at. A bit of self irony is never a bad thing.

The Guild can be watched here.

Geek & Sundry can be watched here.

 

Image Links: Felicia Day’s Official Facebook & The Guild’s Official Facebook

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Jens permalink
    November 5, 2012 4:21 pm

    Interesting to see the game community beginning to have voices … it’s kind of … subcultural. Hope you have many readers on this blog. You guys really deserves that. Is this the only meta commenting geek site on the internet?

  2. November 5, 2012 4:27 pm

    Thanks. Luckily several exist including ours. Together with series like The Guild and geek shows such as Tabletop and Sword and Laser, gamers are really starting to band together and speak up. It isn’t lame to be a gamer any more! Ofc, in our eyes it never was.

Trackbacks

  1. Geek & Sundry - Community Features for November 6th, 2012
  2. WEB REVIEW: Felicia Day on "Geek & Sundry" - Lez Get Real

Comment Or Die

