Skip to content

Minecraft Horror Survival

October 29, 2012

The night of All Hallow’s Eve is almost upon us.  A night where the undead can rise, ghouls and ghosties pull all kinds of mischief, werewolves roam the dark forests and vampires stalk their prey as flecks of rain run down their hooded cloaks (well, the awesome vampires anyway, I’m not including sparkly vampires). And since mere mortals seem to enjoy celebrating All Hallow’s Eve by almost putting themselves in a sugar induced coma, we thought we at WeHave9Minutes should join in on the frights and chills and have a good ol’ time. My little contribution to the frights and chills is playing Minecraft on hardcore mode while using the terrifying texture ‘Terrorcraft-124’. A link to which can be found at the end of the article. So once you got yourself seated comfortably and locked all the windows and doors, let’s jump into A Nightmare in Minecraft!

My Halloween piece may be a bit more blocky than most people are used to, but it’s far from a walk in the park.

I set myself a goal. There are always those horror movies when a gang of unfortunate souls have to live through the night, the break of dawn as their only salvation. I decide to put myself in much the same position. I randomly generate a new world for myself on Hardcore Mode. Hardcore Mode, to those who don’t know, is basically ‘Iron-Man’ rules for Minecraft, i.e., the hardest setting, and once you die it’s completely over. Your world gets deleted, a permanent state of death for that world.

Before I click the Go, I set myself the task of simply surviving one night in the wilderness. I’m not going to build a shelter, a bed or any kind of armour. I’m allowing crafted weapons though, so if I find iron, I’m allowed an iron sword, but no iron armour. I pick a place and stand my ground the whole night and see if my pixelated face can survive a night of zombies, skeletons, spiders and creepers.

So I load up the new world and already the signs are bad. You know your days are numbered when the plants start blooming R.I.P in front of your eyes.

So I start off as you always do in Minecraft, a bit of good old-fashioned tree bashing, and as I pummel the bark away, slowly the words ‘You Will Die’ materialize in front of me in bloody red sap. It reminds me of the moment in Tim Burton’s horror ‘Sleepy Hollow’ where Johnny Depp goes toe to toe with an evil tree and gets squirted with horrible globules of blood.

The omens seem to be everywhere and all telling me of one thing. My soon-to-be demise.

The wildlife of this red, apocalyptic landscape are, well … not particularly horrifying

Exterminate!

I can’t really understand how robot sheep are associated with Halloween, unless they are lethal terminator sheep. Perhaps they are a Cyclon recreation of human foodstuffs. How these metallic barnyard animals got here I don’t know, but the horrific genetic experiments that must have been used to create this particular experiment creep me right out!

Right after leaving the robotic sheep to munch on the nihilistic vegetation I begin to gather a few resources to make a wooden/stone sword and maybe a few torches. Soon I come across what is Coal in this Alice in Wonderland style craziness I have found myself in, and even that is telling me I’m doomed, or not to ingest this substance … Not completely sure.

Even fossil fuels hate you today!

Looking about I pick a pinnacle of overhanging blocks for me to make my stand. It looks pretty defendable, even without a bow and arrow which would really help me snipe mobs in the darkness, but you have to make do, right?

This is where I will make my final stand!

At least, unlike most generic horror movies, I have no companions to question my tactics, start a very loud argument and cause all the monsters to track us down and kill the good-hearted Samaritan character.

So I’m making my way over, wanting to get there before darkness falls when …

Yeah. One mis-step and total ignorance to my surroundings has gotten me into more trouble. Kind of like when a survivor starts fiddling with the power-box, and instead of turning on the power, accidentally unlocks all the compound doors and lets the horde of zombies in.

Bugger

I could just build my way out, but that’s not in the spirit of survival, so I decide to journey into the darkness.  Like most horror movie protagonists I proceed into the incredibly deadly situation with no rational thought or concern. After attempting to make a simple staircase, which I fail to do, I fruitlessly try to jump to the opposite block of log I place. I instead miss and drop to the cavern floor, into darkness, with a sickening crack of bone.

I hastily make some torches to illuminate the darkness and my own dire situation. Slowly, I push forward, blue torches soaking the cavern in a sweetly-sick blue glow. Out of the darkness an arrow whistles past my ear. A skeleton archer being a truly sneaky bastard, shooting me from the darkness. Launching into the darkness I proceed to pummel and wrestle the bow and a couple of arrows from the undead skeleton.

Come get some!

Feeling a tad more confident, my breathing and heart rate normalising, I have a little poke around and, lo and behold, I find a rusty brown pre that could only be iron. My natural Minecraft instinct kicks in and I need to have a mine. Holding the precious Iron Ore reverently in my hands, thinking of all the heads I could burst with an iron sword, I don’t notice my crosshairs staring into a pair of large, purple eyes. Before I know what happens, the Enderman materializes in front of me and brutalizes my face, leaving me dead in the darkness.

Son of a!

A rather fitting end to my Halloween special, being killed by the parody of one of the freakiest and terrifying creatures Man has ever dreamed of. The Slenderman.

I lasted all of about 12 minutes. I’m not even sure if it was dark outside. So like many horror movies, the outcome is disappointing and there is no surviving out the night. The Horde is too massive and humans are far too squishy for their own good, and mainly just a bit dim sometimes.

I hope you all enjoy Halloween and manage to survive the hordes of children knocking at your door for sweets, but remember always have a baseball bat ready in case of real horror apocalypses

The Minecraft texture used was Terrorcraft-124 by Dellron123. Link for download here.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 17, 2013 8:18 pm

    An impressive share! I’ve just forwarded this onto a coworker who was conducting a little homework on this. And he actually ordered me dinner due to the fact that I stumbled upon it for him… lol. So allow me to reword this…. Thanks for the meal!! But yeah, thanx for spending the time to talk about this issue here on your internet site.

Comment Or Die

