Skip to content

An MMORPG Novice Plays Star Wars: The Old Republic

October 2, 2012

First things first, I have really enjoyed my first foray into the world of MMORPGs. I’m not sure if the Star Wars license helped me to sink into this kind of game. I’m sure the fact that my favourite movie franchise was tacked on is a big positive. It sounds kind of cruel the way I said ‘tacked on’ because it’s far from what I think. Bioware have managed to make Star Wars transfer into the world of MMORPG very well and it feels and plays like Knights of The Old Republic, which is excellent.

An elegant weapon from a more civilised age.

The Old Republic feels like a single player experience. You are given fully voiced cutscenes and conversation choices much like Mass Effect, KOTOR and DragonAge and the fact that it happens all in an MMORPG is truly mind-boggling. The amount of voice recording to make this must have been a mammoth task.

I think that’s why I enjoy the Old Republic, it plays and seems like an MMORPG but it has many features that make it feel like a single player experience. For those who don’t want to party you don’t lose anything from the experience of The Old Republic.

I played in a two man group with my friend, who took me around the first few areas of Tython with my Jedi Knight. Starting the game as a party could have possibly gotten rid of the fact that I didn’t like MMORPGs, and when I got home and played by myself I feared that the experience would crumble away without a friend to play with me.

That is certainly not the case at all. I have managed to take my Jedi Knight up to Level 12 and she is now prancing around on Coruscant. I have actually found I can manage myself quite well now, my few deaths have been caused by my own idiocy rather than the game punishing a new-comer. It feels greatly accessible to a new-comer, I’m not sure a game like World Of Warcraft could do the same, seeing as it’s such an old and established game. I would feel more over my head I think, but perhaps not. Maybe I have the bug now.

I can’t really comment on the game’s interface because I have no frame of reference with other MMORPGs. I have, however, heavily changed the interface so notifications and information stopped popping up in the middle of the screen. I have heard both good things and bad things about the interface but it has never, to this point, detracted from the experience.

I’m a Star Wars nut and I’m familiar and very attached to the lore, so to see little details Bioware put in to make it a Star Wars game has been simply awesome. It made me feel like I’m really playing a Star Wars game that has the same love for the material as me, such as passive abilities being different lightsaber combat forms which all have their own buffs, reflecting the combat style itself. For example, my Jedi Knight has a passive ability which is “Form 1: Shii-Cho’ which, according to the lore, is the first combat skill any Jedi learns when becoming an initiate. It’s stuff like this that I would go on and on about if I thought someone was listening. It’s just nice to see some care and attention given to Star Wars again in the gaming industry.

I am only on the trial at the moment, but I can easily see me wanting to play the game for a long time to come and it’s likely I won’t even wait for The Old Republic to go free to play.

Oh, and let’s not forget the cinematics. A fan of Star Wars will get that rush of enjoyment again and again from literally three of the best game cinematics ever.

 

Look forward to a longer and more in-depth look soon

Image Link : videogamer.com

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 22, 2013 9:16 pm

    Yesterday, while I was at work, my sister stole my iPad and tested
    to see if it can survive a twenty five foot drop, just so she can
    be a youtube sensation. My apple ipad is now destroyed and she has 83 views.
    I know this is entirely off topic but I had to share it with someone!

  2. March 23, 2013 4:16 am

    Thank you for the auspicious writeup. It in fact
    was a amusement account it. Look advanced to far added agreeable from you!
    However, how could we communicate?

Comment Or Die

