Skip to content

Top 5 Music-Tracks-I-Discovered-Via-Games On My iPod

August 9, 2012

Not all gaming music is designed to be a character’s theme, or background noise to some epic gunfight/battle/wet fish slapping contest. Sure, a lot of top composers are backing video games now, but I will admit that soundtracks can often seem far less impressive to someone who has not played the game. Other tracks stand alone as awesome pieces of work in their own right, and they’re surprisingly good to listen to on public transport, waiting for someone, whilst having a coffee and so on and so forth. Lesser-known songwriters or bands can shot into the limelight for allowing their music to be used in a game trailer or the title itself.

If you ever find me moseying about on the train, chances are I’ll be listening to one of these, taken from a game, a trailer or something else. Or some Ray LaMontagne.

In no particular order:

1. Into Dust: Mazzy Star (featured in the Gears of War 3 Dust to Dust trailer)

 

This haunting melody is brilliant for those rainy or snowy days where time seems to be quite sluggish. Props to Epic Games for this find. I have no idea to this day why people think that Gears Of War is a stupid franchise.

2. (I Always Kill) The Things I Love: The Real Tuesday Weld (featured in various L.A. Noire cutscenes, along with other songs)

 

An alternate version of The Real Tuesday Weld’s song performed by Claudia Brucken, I love this because I love jazz. This track sings sweet seductive nothings in a way that Carly Rae Jepsen could never achieve with her number, or anything like that.

3. DmC Soundtrack Sample: Noisia


From the horse’s mouth:

“It’s been an awesome experience working with Ninja Theory on the game. We had great freedom but were also bound by certain criteria typical in the game world, these are challenging boundaries (for example; consistency in sonics over 180 minutes of music) but also lots of space in terms of dynamics & progression and instrumentation, being able to create soundscapes without having to worry about holding the attention of a dancefloor. Also, their music director was great to work with, good vibes. It’s great when you get to play to your strengths. And the game kicks ass.” – Noisia

4. Far Away – Jose Gonzalez (featured in Red Dead Redemption)

 

This is one of those lone country man songs I also happen to love. Jose has since performed on stage on Spike TV thanks to his work with RDR.

5. Sword And Sworcery’s Soundtrack – Jim Guthrie

 

Jim also worked on the soundtrack for Indie Game: The Movie. It’s hard to describe his style, so I’m going to let you decide for yourself.

Image Link: Technabob

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 25, 2012 7:27 am

    I’m impressed, I have to say. Really rarely do I encounter a weblog that’s each educative
    and entertaining, and let me let you know, you will have hit the nail on the head.
    Your thought is excellent; the difficulty is something that not sufficient persons are talking intelligently about.
    I’m very completely satisfied that I stumbled across this in my search for something relating to this.

Comment Or Die

