Skip to content

What Makes Good Gaming Apparel?

June 16, 2012

Today, I spent a lot of time browsing various shops looking for some gaming-related clothes. Beanies, t-shirts, hoodies, I wasn’t picky. I wanted to reference my knowledge (or my sad, sad life) for all to see. Or did I? See, I wanted to be a beacon of nerd-like glory, but do I need to confirm to everyone that I am a gamer by signposting myself with a joypad or something?

Perhaps this is borne from my mild hatred of overly in-your-face slogan t-shirts. You know, the types that semantically vomit Impact-font words at your eyeballs like ‘WORLD’S BIGGEST MIDGET IN MY PANTS‘, ‘HEY MY FACE IS UP HERE YOU CHAUVINISTIC PIG‘ or the god-forsaken endless copies of ‘KEEP CALM AND CARRY ON/EAT CAKE/GIVE UP ON LIFE‘ tees. Sure, I want to be different, but I don’t want to look like I’m desperate. That is not my style. “Hey, they’re showing that they have a sense of humour!” you might say. I wouldn’t be caught dead in any of the aforementioned. Besides, there’s a difference between humour and, well… those tees.

For the record, I usually wear a t-shirt with another shirt worn over it. Pour examplé:

I know I’m not the next Gok Wan (nor would I want to be, holy balls), but I think this is decent enough for casual wear. It doesn’t single me out as the guy who is definitely not getting laid today by painting ‘Sex Instructor, First Lesson Free’ on my chest.

What does this have to do with gaming tees? For the sake of clarity, we’re talking tees for use when meeting members of the general public, your friends, your girlfriend and maybe your dog. I like humorous tees as much as the next guy, especially if they’re about gaming, but I’m much more impressed with the subtle shout-outs to titles, rather than the HEY LOOK I’M A GAMER LOOKS LIKE I NEED A 1UP LOL approach.

Let’s take Mass Effect, for instance. The hoodie has sold out in many stores, despite its huge asking price. Why? Well, you can wear it anywhere, and people who don’t play Mass Effect wouldn’t even notice. Hell, Shepard even sports the hoodie in Mass Effect 3, but it could just as easily be compared to something from a sports shop. I want it so, so much. Donations to the Matthew Edwards Gamer Clothing Welfare Trust are welcome.

Insert Coin’s clothing gets it right.  Their shirts look as if the various groups of different games got together and organized their own logo creation contest. They look like legitimate businesses at first glance, and unless someone else has played the game, they’re none the wiser. They’re the shirts that create epic moments. You might pass someone by, and they’ll look at your shirt, and then time will freeze around you both, and you’ll share a nod and a knowing grin, and then the ground will crack, and oh crap it’s a Reaper, only to be beaten to a metallic paste by you and your new-found friend/lover/pet with nothing but your bare hands and a bystander’s cup of coffee. You’ll share a hug/kiss/flurry of loving licks and then ride off into the sunset, forevermore known as The Duo of Destiny.

Some of that may or may not have been exaggerated. Again, donations. DONATIONS, PEOPLE.

Oh, hell, Insert Coin deserves some of my cash.

Perhaps I’m being too snobby. You might think, “Well, what’s the point of wearing stuff about clothing if nobody’s going to get it?” Maybe you think it’s an elitist exercise in seeing who knows the most about absurdly vague gaming references. To me, it’s simply about buying clothing that won’t look out of place in everyday scenarios. As Graeme Boyd, Xbox Social Marketing Manager, says on Insert Coin: ‘[it’s] the only gaming gear I’m proud to wear to the pub.’

Here are a few of my faves. Can you guess where they’re from?

Original link: Thinkgeek.com: N7 Elite Armor Stripe Hoodie, Insert Coin

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 17, 2012 9:15 am

    Why did you show me another place i can buy gaming apparel from? WHY?

  2. June 17, 2012 9:49 am

    ;)

  3. June 20, 2012 7:02 am

    I agree. I wouldn’t be caught designing a shirt that screams out “hey I love anime or hey I’m a gamer”. Like you said in you post, you’d want to be able to wear out tees for any occasion and not feel out of place.

  4. June 23, 2013 11:20 am

    If you’re going bright on the eyes then all that’s needed
    on the lips is a slick of gloss or balm and youre good to go.
    To accomplish a marbled nail effect, you will need a few basic nail products
    and accessories. Those who feel naked when their lips feel naked may prefer to play up their pout with a slick of bright fuschia, coral or red lipstick.

Comment Or Die

